Do What You Love or Love What You Do

Agni Aflikhiya
2 min readNov 27, 2021

--

The sentence is very popular. I had known the sentence since I was still in college. I agree with the sentence too. Now, I have a full-time job. It’s my first job after graduation. I try to reflect on ourselves. Recently, I realize that it’s not an easy thing to love what you do or do what you love. How do you know that your first offer will ‘match’ with you? It will be a lovely job that makes you always excited and happy all the time? It will make you feel energized and can handle anything in the office. You won’t feel tired and you can’t stop looking into the screen. I don’t think so. I’m still thinking about my current job. There were a lot of questions in my head. Is it the job that my-12-year old of me will be proud of? Are you happy? Are you still excited in the early morning? Do you want to live your life like this for the rest of your life? And the list of question will goes on.

..honestly I have know the answers of those question. I want to leave. But, leave have another questions. What’s your next plan? How do you know that it will be match for you? How do you handle yourself if you found the similar struggle in your new place? Are you serious? Are you ready to let go this ‘comfort zone’?

Now, I feel so confused and overwhelmed. I realized that it’s still a long journey to find the ‘ideal’ job. But, I think that I’m still on the right track too. I can focus to build my own career path. I’m more aware about my interests, strengthness, work-ethic, and many things. It because I got this job offer. The first job really help me to know more about myself. I’m so grateful.

Last, but not least. I still don’t know what’s the ‘best’ decision for the next plan. But, it’s okay to be not okay. I just want to write down my own thoughts and feelings. I hope that anyone who still figure out what you want to do. You won’t give up. The wonderful journey is still awaits for us. Don’t be afraid to make a decision for your own life. You can create your own happiness. Even though, this life will always give you so many surprises. Your plan isn’t going well. But, in the end of the day you will understand that those rejection will lead to those blessings. Those unexpected events come to bring you to the right track. Keep going. You have to be patience and let God do the rest.

--

--