Juvenile Justice: Taking a Deep Understanding of Child Criminal

Agni Aflikhiya
2 min readOct 23, 2022

--

(source: www.netflix.com)

I found an interesting series to watch at the weekends. Even though these topics could make you feel emotionally drained, there were a lot of insights you could gain.

It’s really frustrating to see many cases of child criminals. But, there were some patterns underlying their behaviour. For example, they came from a ‘dysfunctional’ family, craved affection and attention, and needed money to survive.

As a grad student in clinical psychology, I can understand that those conditions could be the risk factor for someone who might develop a chance of maladaptive behaviour or other psychological disorder.

It was really sad to imagine that life was so unfair. Some children were trapped in an awful situations. They didn’t ask for it. And I really feel sorry for knowing that I still couldn’t understand and forgive them. I always use my moral compass to judge them as “problem-maker”.

I still don’t know what can I do to help them. I have ever wondered about taking research about them (but I still feel afraid). Yeah, here we go. Life is still confusing. But one thing I learned from this series, we can’t blame the environment that made this kid do the bad things, because this kid is the one who intends to do it.

--

--