Thankyou for The Happiest Year!

Agni Aflikhiya
4 min readJan 4, 2022

--

I don’t like to celebrate the new year. I’d prefer to spend the rest of the day with my family and sleep all night in the home. But, I want to take the new year as a chance to stop and reflect on the things that I have learned for the last 12 months.

My 2021 was about accepting myself

It was the year, I learned to accept many flaws of myself. I found the ‘worst’ condition of myself and the ‘best’ version of myself. It is because I tried to deal with it. I don’t agree that acceptance means accepting whatever the condition. I’m working very hard to improve myself and bring the best version of myself.

It takes so much time but I’m very grateful to never give up. I’m forcing myself to start what’s the best thing I could afford to myself. I’m trying to do exercise routinely (YHA basically my doctor said so and I’m very proud that I could make it) and…the last thing I’ve been thinking is…SURPRISINGLY I enjoy using skincare routinely (even I’ve never imagined before I could do it). I’m focusing my energy, time, love and attention only on myself.

My 2021 was about making healthy boundaries.

It was the year, I learned to speak up for myself. If it’s not aligned with my values and makes me feel uncomfortable. I would do anything to say about what I truly think about it. It’s not always making everyone will understand and agree with your opinion. Some people will feel upset and left me alone (but, I won’t be afraid yo). At least, I have to try to communicate what’s in my mind.

I don’t want to say or follow something ONLY for people’s approval or validation. Now, I know that it’s impossible to make everyone like you. No matter how it’s good or ‘the best thing you could give to others, but the haters will always hate it anyway.

My 2021 was about recovery process.

It was the year, I learned that health is REALLY important. If your body isn’t functioning well, so you’re losing the competence to do the simple thing by yourself and I hate it so much. I can’t be independent. But, later I realized that God want to make me appreciate those little things. Even in just a month that I should experience losing the ability to walk, run, and breathe freely. It made me change how I treat myself with more gentle and positive. I’m very serious and consider every choice I’d make and the impact on my health condition. I don’t want to take it for granted.

My 2021 was about pursuing my career.

It was the year, I learned about how to live with my own purpose, find my strengths and ‘sparks’ in the workplace. I tried to make my own definition of success, my dreams, and my priorities. Also, passion is not always full of rainbow and butterflies. I tried to find a career path that I want to pursue for the rest of my life :’) even it needed a lot of time. I choose to trust the process. Even I felt afraid to step out from my comfort zone to the uncertainty, but I think that I want to pursue my dream is the solid reason to use it.

My 2021 was about finding the silver lining.

It was the year, I learned that I can understand what’s truly God want to give in my life. I could find those answers to questions from a year before. It needs a lot of time for you to be mature and ready to accept the ‘hard’ truth.

I can understand that I made many mistakes in the past, but I should learn from them. I had made one decision that is very significant to the whole aspect of my life: I committed to my personal growth. I’m not rushing to come into another romantic relationship or find a partner. I want to be the ‘right’ partner for my future partner.

It’s changed many GOOD things in my life. Alhamdulillah. God is always good and gave the best scenario that I’ve never imagined before.

My 2021 was about building a REAL connection.

It was the year, I learned that I should build a good connection with myself. I only attract the energy that I want to be. People will come into your life unexpectedly. Even you have no idea how it can possible. But, what’s meant to be will always find a way.

I stop forcing any kind of relationship. It’s pointless. I only focus to spend my energy on some people who PUT the same amount of energy too. Never settle for less :)

Okay, thank you 2021. I’m excited to have many new opportunities to learn and grow. Welcome, 2022!

--

--