The Midnight Library: A Life Lesson for Young-Adulthood

Agni Aflikhiya
4 min readMay 7, 2022

--

I recently read the book ‘The Midnight Library’ by Matt Haig. The book is very impressive to me. I haven’t finished it yet, but I think that this book is suitable for anyone who’s still struggling to find purpose in their current life. The main character, Nora Seed, is thinking about ending her life. It is because she thinks that her life is in chaos. She is in her late thirties. But, if we can understand it earlier, hopefully, we can pass our 20s wisely.

I don’t know what’s the end of Nora’s journey. But, there were a few lessons that I can agree with;

Life isn’t supposed to be full of rainbows and butterflies, but we should embrace the negatives too. The most important thing is to feel grateful for anything that happens in our life. Good and bad. That’s life.

I know that some of my friends are having serious problems in their life. When I was still young and naive. I think that life is unfair. I can’t understand why life so sucks, especially as an adult. Until I realized that life is fair. Everyone is having their own struggle. Be kind to each other.

Nora seed is always focusing on other’s life. She thinks that everyone is doing great. They must be happy and successful to reach their goals/dreams, unless herself. Actually, everyone is struggling with their own issues.

She forgets to focus on her life. She doesn’t really know what actually makes her feel happy. I guess that sometimes I’m losing my focus too. I’m too afraid to live differently. I’m worried so much about my future. I want to give up my dreams. Should I just follow the life that others want to live?

This story wants to remind us to focus on what really matters in our life. We are the main character in our life. What makes you feel excited every morning? What makes you feel passionate to do things? What do you want to do for the rest of your life? If you still can’t give the exact answer, how do you know the life that you want to live?

I guess that it would make her feel miserable. You can’t always compare your life with others. So, I should try to enjoy my own life. The process must be different from others and that’s okay.

I think that everyone is having resentment toward something. They can feel regret for anything they can’t do or they can do in their life.

For me, I know what’s my purpose in this current life. I know exactly how I want to live my life. I feel blessed with my life. But, I still can relate to what actually Nora Seed feels about her life. She thought that she had all the chances to make something of her life, and she blew every one of them. Through her own carelessness and misfortune. She blames herself. Recently, I used to do it too. I regret many things. I couldn’t spend my time wisely. I couldn’t get a new job. I couldn’t submit the tasks aligned with the deadlines. I decided to cut off with a friend. I still can’t remove the memories of this EX-friend (even though we’re just getting to know each other in a few months), but I’m still hoping that we can talk again.

and the question is;

How’s my life will be different if we can make a different choice?

But, the end of Nora’s story tells us about acceptance. Sometime we can’t get what we want. Even though we have a STRONG desire to get it. We really obsess with things.

and the answer is;

It’s not always fit for ourselves (..and thanks to God have protected us in a certain way).

It’s not easy to accept it is what it is. It’s really important to acknowledge our feelings. You can’t hide your feeling as if it’s not a big deal for you. Learn to embrace it.

‘Yes, I feel lonely because I lost my friend. But, I hope that it’s gonna be the best decision for us.’

Yes, I feel sad, because I should face many rejections and I can’t earn my own money.’

Yes, I feel incompetent to achieve my dreams.’

But, you should learn to think about the positive side and wait patiently. For example, maybe I couldn’t get a job earlier, because I still need time to get to know myself better. Instead of I’m getting into a different job quickly. But, the job isn’t fitting for me.

Appreciate every little progress that you’ve made in the process. I learned a lot from many rejections. I think that my communication skill is getting better after joining several interviews.

Here are a few lessons from the book. Hope it can help you to pass this journey. You’re not alone. Adulting is hard. Let’s discuss it more :)

--

--